Top Datto Alternatives for Backup and Disaster Recovery

If you’re using Datto and evaluating your options, this guide is for you.

Whether you’re looking to lower costs, move away from appliances, gain more storage flexibility, or compare backup and recovery features, we’ve done the research. In this article, we compare five Datto alternatives for MSPs and IT teams: Zmanda Pro, Axcient x360Recover, Acronis Cyber Platform, Veeam Data Platform, and N-able Cove.

You’ll see how each product stacks up against Datto on deployment, storage, security, workload coverage, recovery capabilities, and pricing. We’ll also explain where Datto still stands out, what to consider before switching, and how to move to a new platform without losing backup history.

Try Zmanda Pro alongside your Datto setup

Datto alternatives at a glance

The table below compares the five Datto alternatives with Datto.

Zmanda ProAxcient x360RecoverAcronis Cyber PlatformVeeam Data PlatformN-able Cove
Best forTeams that want to own their backup and storageMSPs that want a setup closest to Datto’sBackup and security in one consoleThe broadest workload and storage coverageCloud-first backup with storage included
DeploymentSaaS or self-hosted, including fully offlineAppliance, your own hardware, or direct-to-cloudCloud console or local management serverSelf-hosted software or hardened software applianceSaaS
Appliance neededNoOptionalNoNoNo
Where backups are storedYour choice of S3, Azure, Google Cloud, Wasabi, Backblaze B2, NAS or local disk, or Zmanda Cloud StorageAxcient Cloud, a partner’s private cloud, or a local cacheLocal, Acronis cloud, partner-hosted, Amazon S3 or AzureYour choice of disk, NAS, object storage or tapeN-able cloud (included), plus an optional local copy
Microsoft 365Included, priced per userSeparate productIncludedSeparate productIncluded
Proxmox VEYes, agentlessNot statedYes, agentlessYesNot stated
EncryptionAES-256 on the client; Zmanda servers cannot decryptAES-256 at rest, TLS 1.2 in transitAES-256 with a user-set passwordAES-256, encrypted before transferAES-256 in transit and at rest
ImmutabilityObject Lock on S3 and Wasabi; ZFS for local storageAirGap (mechanism not published)Governance and compliance modesHardened Linux repository; S3 Object LockImmutable copies
Pricing modelPer workloadFlat fee with pooled storagePer workload or per GBPer workloadFlat rate per device, storage included
Public pricesYes, from $5.99 per workload per month [Ashok sign-off]NoNoNoNo
Free trialAvailableAvailableAvailableAvailableAvailable
Table: Datto alternatives compared
Fig: Questions to ask while evaluating Datto alternatives

The 5 best Datto alternatives compared in depth

Each of the Datto alternatives below is covered the same way: who it suits, where it’s stronger than Datto, how to move across, and how it’s priced

1. Zmanda Pro vs Datto

Best for: IT teams that want to own their backup and choose their own storage, and MSPs that want backup software without an appliance.

Zmanda Pro - Enterprise backup & recovery software
Fig: Zmanda Pro – Enterprise Backup & Recovery Software

Zmanda Pro and Datto take different approaches to the same job. Datto SIRIS pairs backup software with an appliance and the Datto Cloud. Zmanda Pro is software only: it runs as SaaS, as a self-hosted server, or as a fully offline, air-gapped deployment, and it deploys in about 15 minutes. Backup data travels from each protected machine straight to the storage you choose and never passes through Zmanda’s servers.

Where Zmanda Pro is stronger than Datto: Storage choice is the biggest difference. You can back up to Amazon S3, Azure Blob, Google Cloud Storage, Wasabi, Backblaze B2, any S3-compatible storage, a NAS, SFTP or local disk, or use Zmanda Cloud Storage. Data is encrypted on the client with AES-256 before it leaves the machine, and Zmanda’s servers cannot decrypt it. Forever-incremental backups with client-side deduplication reduce storage by up to 90%. Object Lock on S3 and Wasabi, plus ZFS immutability for local storage, keeps backups from being changed or deleted.

Coverage spans Windows, Linux and macOS, VMware, Hyper-V and agentless Proxmox VE backup that can restore to Proxmox, Hyper-V or VMware. It also covers SQL Server, MySQL, MariaDB, PostgreSQL, MongoDB and Oracle, plus Microsoft 365 in the same console. Access control includes single sign-on through OpenID Connect, multi-factor authentication and role-based access. Zmanda Pro holds SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 certifications, and its scale has been proven in a Fortune 50 certification with more than 100,000 workloads.

Moving from Datto: Because Zmanda Pro needs no hardware, you can run it alongside Datto during the transition. Start backing up to your chosen storage, test restores, and keep Datto recovery points available until their retention period ends.

Pricing model: Zmanda Pro publishes its prices. Plans start at $5.99 per workload per month on Business.

See Zmanda Pro pricing

2. Axcient x360Recover vs Datto

Best for: MSPs that want a Datto replacement that works the same way: an appliance on site, plus copies in the vendor’s cloud

Axcient x360Recover logo
Fig: Axient

In an Axcient vs Datto comparison, the first thing to notice is how similar the two models are. It runs on an Axcient appliance, on your own hardware, or as a direct-to-cloud agent with no appliance at all. Backups go to the Axcient Cloud, or to a private cloud vault in a partner’s own datacenter. Axcient is now part of ConnectWise, which announced the acquisition in September 2024.

Where Axcient is stronger than Datto: The appliance is optional, so you can choose between local hardware and direct-to-cloud backup for each client or site. Partners can keep backups in their own private cloud vault, according to Axcient’s supported configurations. Axcient charges a flat fee with pooled storage, and offers a 14-day trial with no credit card required.

On security, Axcient encrypts appliance and vault storage with AES-256, with keys held in its cloud key management service, and uses TLS 1.2 in transit. Its AirGap feature separates deletion requests from the deletion itself, though Axcient doesn’t publish how the mechanism works.

Moving from Datto: Because the two models are similar, the move is mostly a matter of redeploying agents and appliances. Keep Datto recovery points accessible until your retention obligations are met.

Pricing model: Flat fee per device with pooled storage. Axcient doesn’t publish its prices.

3. Acronis Cyber Platform vs Datto

Best for: teams and MSPs that want backup and security in one console.

Acronis logo
Fig: Acronis Cyber Platform

Acronis Cyber Platform, formerly Acronis Cyber Protect Cloud, combines backup with endpoint security in one multi-tenant console. It runs from a cloud console, or from a local management server for sites that must stay offline. There is no appliance to buy.

Where Acronis is stronger than Datto: Storage choice is broad: local storage, the Acronis cloud, partner-hosted storage, Amazon S3 or Azure. Workload coverage includes Windows, macOS and Linux, VMware, Hyper-V, Nutanix AHV, agentless Proxmox VE backup for versions 8.2 to 9.0, Microsoft 365 and Google Workspace. Immutable storage offers a governance mode and a compliance mode that, according to Acronis, cannot be disabled by anyone, including Acronis support.

Backups are encrypted with AES-256 using a password you set, and Acronis says it does not store that password. Each license includes a storage allowance, according to the Acronis MSP pricing page: 3 TB per server, 2 TB per virtual machine, 300 GB per desktop and unlimited storage for Microsoft 365.

Where Datto may be the better fit: If you want backup and disaster recovery delivered as one appliance-based service, with local virtualization on hardware the vendor supplies, Datto’s model is closer to that.

Pricing model: Per workload or per GB of protected data, with a minimum monthly commitment and volume tiers. Acronis doesn’t publish prices; it offers a price calculator.

4. Veeam Data Platform vs Datto

Best for: teams that want the broadest workload and storage coverage, and have the skills to run their own backup infrastructure.

veeam logo
Fig: Veeam Data Platform

Veeam Data Platform is self-hosted software, deployed on Windows or as a hardened software appliance. Unlike Datto, it doesn’t come with hardware or a bundled cloud: you choose and run the backup servers and the storage behind them. MSPs manage clients through the Veeam Service Provider Console. If you’re weighing the two, our guide to Veeam alternatives covers Veeam in more detail.

Where Veeam is stronger than Datto: Coverage is the widest in this comparison. Veeam supports VMware, Hyper-V, Nutanix AHV and Proxmox VE versions 8.2 to 9.2, Windows, Linux and macOS agents, and application-aware backup for SQL Server, Oracle, Exchange, SharePoint and PostgreSQL, according to Veeam’s help center. Storage options include disk, NAS, Amazon S3 and S3-compatible storage, Azure, Google Cloud, Wasabi and tape from LTO3 to LTO10.

Immutability comes from a hardened Linux repository or S3 Object Lock. Data is encrypted with AES-256 before it is transferred. Veeam offers a 30-day trial and a free Community Edition for up to 10 workloads.

Moving from Datto: Plan the Veeam infrastructure first: backup server, proxies and repositories. Then protect workloads in parallel with Datto and test restores before you switch over.

Pricing model: Per workload through the Veeam Universal License, sold as subscription or perpetual licenses. Veeam doesn’t publish list prices.

5. N-able Cove vs Datto

Best for: cloud-first MSPs and IT teams that want storage included in one per-device price.

N-able Cove logo
Fig: N-able Cove – SaaS Backup Service

N-able Cove is a SaaS backup service with no appliance. The primary backup copy lives in N-able’s cloud, and storage is included in the price. An optional LocalSpeedVault keeps a local copy on a network share, NAS or USB drive for faster restores.

Where Cove is stronger than Datto: There is no hardware to size, buy or replace. N-able charges one flat rate per server or workstation and one per user for Microsoft 365, with cloud storage included. Servers, workstations and Microsoft 365 are managed from one multi-tenant dashboard. Coverage includes Windows, Linux, macOS, VMware and Hyper-V, with application support for Exchange, MySQL, Oracle and SharePoint.

Backups are encrypted with AES-256 in transit and at rest, and N-able says backups are isolated by default with immutable copies.

Moving from Datto: Because Cove needs no hardware, you can start backing up to N-able’s cloud right away and run both services until your Datto retention requirements are met.

Pricing model: Flat rate per device, plus a per-user rate for Microsoft 365, with storage included. N-able doesn’t publish prices.

Datto alternatives | Zmanda Pro CTA

How is Datto priced, and what should you compare?

Datto backup pricing isn’t published. That makes a direct price comparison harder, so compare total cost rather than the headline rate. Ask every vendor on your shortlist the same five questions:

  1. Licence unit. Are you paying per workload, per device, per GB or per appliance?
  2. Storage. Is cloud storage included, metered, or yours to supply?
  3. Hardware. Is an appliance required, and who pays to replace or upgrade it?
  4. Term. What is the minimum contract term, and can you scale down mid-term?
  5. DR testing. Are restore tests and cloud failover included, or charged separately?

Among the Datto alternatives in this guide, only Zmanda Pro publishes its prices, which makes it a useful baseline when quotes from other vendors come in.

How do you move off Datto without losing backup history?

Whichever of these Datto alternatives you choose, switching doesn’t have to put your recovery points at risk. A careful move keeps old backups accessible while new ones build up, and it gives you time to prove the new tool works before you rely on it.

  1. List workloads and retention obligations. Note every server, VM, database, endpoint and Microsoft 365 tenant, along with how long each one’s backups must be kept.
  2. Check your contract. Find your Datto renewal date and notice period before you commit to a new vendor.
  3. Decide how to keep old recovery points. Either keep Datto running in a reduced state until retention expires, or export what you are required to keep.
  4. Run the new tool in parallel. Protect the same workloads with both products for at least one full backup cycle, and test file-level and full-server restores.
  5. Cut over and decommission. Switch daily backups to the new tool, then retire Datto agents and appliances once your obligations are covered.

The 3-2-1 backup rule is a useful check during the move: at least three copies of your data, on two types of storage, with one copy off site.

Final thoughts: Which Datto alternative fits your team?

All five Datto alternatives can replace Datto for the right team. The best choice depends on which of the seven criteria matter most to you.

If owning your storage, keeping your encryption keys and seeing your price up front matter most, Zmanda Pro is worth a trial. Read more about Zmanda Pro’s immutable backup and air-gapped backup options, or explore the Zmanda Pro platform.

Datto alternatives | Zmanda Pro CTA

FAQs

Five Datto alternatives that suit small businesses are Zmanda Pro, Axcient x360Recover, Acronis Cyber Platform, Veeam Data Platform and N-able Cove. Zmanda Pro suits teams that want to own their storage and see published prices. Axcient works most like Datto, Acronis adds security, Veeam offers the broadest coverage, and Cove includes cloud storage per device.

Start with seven questions: how you can buy it, whether it needs an appliance, how clear the pricing and contract terms are, where backups are stored, how fast you can recover a full server, which workloads it covers, and whether one console manages every site. The answers matter more than the brand name.

Datto pairs backup software with an appliance and its own cloud, and sells mainly through MSPs. Most competitors in this guide make the appliance optional or drop it entirely. Zmanda Pro and Veeam let you choose your own storage, Acronis and Cove offer SaaS consoles, and Zmanda Pro is the only one that publishes its prices.

In a Veeam vs Datto comparison, Veeam is self-hosted software with the widest workload and storage coverage, including Proxmox VE, Nutanix AHV and tape. Datto delivers hardware, software and cloud as one service. Neither publishes list prices: Veeam licenses per workload, and Datto describes SIRIS as flat-fee with free-to-use hardware. See our Veeam alternatives guide for more.

Kaseya owns Datto. It completed its $6.2 billion acquisition on June 23, 2022, according to Kaseya's announcement, and Datto continues as a brand within Kaseya. Unitrends is also a Kaseya company, so moving from Datto to Unitrends keeps you with the same parent vendor.

Datto backup pricing isn't published; you get a quote, usually through an MSP. Axcient, Acronis, Veeam and N-able Cove don't publish prices either. Zmanda Pro does, starting at $5.99 per workload per month [Ashok sign-off]. Compare total cost, including storage, hardware, contract term and DR testing, not just the headline rate.

No. Zmanda Pro, Acronis Cyber Platform, Veeam Data Platform and N-able Cove all run without a vendor appliance, and Axcient x360Recover makes its appliance optional. An appliance helps if you want to run servers locally after a failure; without one, you restore to your own hardware or to the cloud.

Talk to a data expert

Schedule a 30-minute demo with one of our experts to see how Zmanda Pro’s backup capabilities can protect your specific environment.

💬